Polycystic Ovarian syndrome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

issacn

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anybody dexcribe to me what is the etiology of polycystic ovarian syndrome?
Why does high levels of estron will inhibit the maturation of follicles in the ovaries and cause anovulation in female?
What is the difference between cyclic and acyclic production of estrogen?
Why peripheral conversion of androgen, especially in the adipose tissues, always converts androgen to eston instead of estradiol?

Members don't see this ad.

unfortunately i'm studying endo at this time so can't give you an answer...by the way do you mean estrin instead of estron...there is no "estron" in stedman's...but, i did find a review article on the subject, it's a review article on polycystic ovaries in the New England Journal of Medicine, Sept. 28,1995, Vol. 333, No. 13....please do me the favor of posting what you find...i need all the help i can get!...be well...avi

I am sorry that I made a mistake in my previous posting. The word estron is actually estrone. I am sure that it is not estrin because according to the Dorland's Medical Dictionary, estrin = estrogen. Estrone is one of the memeber of estrogens. It is found in placenta and pregnancy urine.

I will try to find out the journal for you but I cannot guarantee that I will find it!