Overnight work

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

radsgrad

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been able to find some relevant info for my question but nothing too specific so I'll lay it down here and see what happens.

I am a 4th year medical student and I am starting to see myself going down this radiology trail for several reasons. One being the potential to work "graveyard" shifts, for some reason I have always been a "night owl" and I constantly find myself watching the sun come up if my schedule allows .

I am curious what the job market looks like for night shift work? My understanding is that some radiologist do work exclusively at night, but where I did my rads rotation no one was on in house over night. I am not sure if these jobs are hard to come by, the setting of the work, the typical schedule, level of compensation, etc. I really wanted to ask more of the attending that was running the AMA page in the med student section, but my understanding is he isn't posting anymore. I have tried looking at job postings but I just can't find a reliable source.

If any of you are in this kind of work or would like to weigh in I would certainly appreciate hearing from you.

Members don't see this ad.

Night shift radiology positions are relatively plentiful. It is probably the most in-demand job type for diagnostic radiologists. Typical schedule is 7 nights on 7 or 14 nights off, with 7/7 being more common recently though 7/14 is supposedly becoming more common again. There are both evening type positions (covering afternoon to midnight or so) as well as nocturnal type positions (overnight until the morning), and most would probably have you do a mix. Best fellowships for this would be neuro and emergency. Compensation is fair but a lot of these jobs are non-partnership track at private practices for whatever reason. Positions exist at academic centers as well as with corporate outfits/telerads.