Osteo. GI Fellowship with Allo IM for DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TXDO

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all Doctors,
I am osteopathic medical student ( I guess I am a newbie in this forum). I would like to ask if a DO can do allo IM residency and later apply to osteopathic GI Fellowships.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

You can. I don't know the politics of whether PDs look down on that or not, but make sure you jump through the AOA rule 92 or whatever rule that is to get your ACGME residency approved. If you want a flat answer from the horses mouth about what might be needed to do this, contact the ACOI, I think it would be Gary Slick the Exec director who'd answer this type of question.

Also, on a side note. I would make sure to look very closely at the programs you're applying to. I'm in the process of applying to pulm and some of the DO fellowships I've looked at are in hospitals where I'm not sure there should be a fellowship program. Granted, this is my personal opinion.

Last edited:
Hello all Doctors,
I am osteopathic medical student ( I guess I am a newbie in this forum). I would like to ask if a DO can do allo IM residency and later apply to osteopathic GI Fellowships.

Thank you

Hi TexDO