Advice for PGY1 seeking GI fellowship...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msid92

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a recent US-IMG graduate who matched into an "academic" community hospital for Internal Medicine in NYC and will be starting this July.

I have a strong desire to get GI fellowship but my program does NOT have an in-house fellowship nor is it very research oriented. I wanted to get an idea from you beautiful people how I can go about securing research and good LORs for GI fellowship application. I have already sent some emails to local GI program directors in the area inquiring about research involvement, but is there more I should be doing?

Some of my credentials:
- Step 1: 226
- Step 2: 235
- Step 3: currently studying for, plan to take before residency starts
- 1 published research article with a cardiologist while I was in undergrad

I would greatly appreciate any sort of advice or input. Thanks you so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Not going to lie, it’s going to be tough. Questionable how “academic” your community program really is if it doesn’t have much in the way of research opportunity and the lack of in house GI is going to hurt. Only plus side I can see to your current situation is that you are on the east coast and will get geographical preference to east coast programs of which there are a lot more. Otherwise, you are going to have to work your tail off to get into GI related research projects at other institutions. If your community program had in house GI then it would be a different story. Depending on your eventual letters and research productivity you may or may not have a shot at community GI programs, it’s too early to tell but again, going to be a lot of hustling for sure. Nothing that can’t be done, but do not for a second think you are in good shape at the moment.