OMFS Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rongeurzz

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting and I wanted to ask for some advice. I am about to finish my second year of GPR of a very surgery heavy program and now that the program is ending I am realizing that I want to pursue OMFS. I thought I would be happy as a GP doing a mix of procedures based on my dental school experience and even during my first year of residency, but after spending over half of my 2 years of GPR working with my oral surgery attendings in the hospital and doing so many procedures, I realized that I love it more than anything else and would regret it if I didn't atleast try.

I understand that if I applied next year I wouldn't have the traditional path of a typical oral surgery applicant and would be further out from dental school than most. I have heard these factors may not be viewed as the best by many programs. Other than crushing the CBSE, are there any other steps I should take to maximize my application? Can I still do externships even though I'm not a student? I don't think an internship this year will be in the cards as it's so late. For context, I was in the top 20% of my class with research and some leadership, would have great rec letters, and have a parent who is an OMFS with a practice I could take over, which is another motivation at this point in life.

If anyone has any advice, even to tell me it's a bad idea, I would really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

Internship is the way to go. I'm pretty sure there are still positions open for this year.

Reactions: 1 user
Do not underestimate the sheer volume of studying that will be required for a decent score on the exam. The exam alone has stopped many, if not most, applicants from eventually applying.

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)