Obese Med Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gooch

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I dont want to offend anyone here, but I have been wondering how an obese med-student can sit through lecture after lecture hearing the health risks of obesity and not get motivated to lose weight? How does one expect to be a respected physician if they are significantly overweight? How can you expect patients to take your advice to lose weight seriously? I feel akward for my overweight classmates everytime obesity issues are brought up and I keep hoping to see the weight come off as time goes by, but I'm in my second year and at least 5% of my class could be considered obese without signs of improvement. I know they are driven people because if they weren't they wouldn't be in med school. Maybe Im a jerk for bringing this up...?

Members don't see this ad.

This is obvious, this is the old "do as I say not as I do," some med students smoke, drink in excess, don't get enough sleep, develop stress-related mental health problems for not taking care of themselves - you could go on and on. Its not that surprising that if an obese student doesn't already have a workout routine, that med school would be a hard as hell place to start that habit, knowing the health risks or not. There is also a question of immediacy (as in if i don't study I will fail this test tommorrow as opposed to if I don't workout I will have a heartattack in 25 years) but that is an entirely different subject.