New grad salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NorthTexasPharmacist

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Just confirmed that a new grad in DFW area was hired with $45/hr at CVS. CVS used to pay the most at $60/hr when I graduated back in 2012. This is getting scary low. At 40 hours, that's $600 less per week.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
Just confirmed that a new grad in DFW area was hired with $45/hr at CVS. CVS used to pay the most at $60/hr when I graduated back in 2012. This is getting scary low. At 40 hours, that's $600 less per week.
$31,200 less a yr. Can get a full time tech for that money.

Reactions: 7 users
$31,200 less a yr. Can get a full time tech for that money.
Considering there are about 10,000 CVS stores in the US, that's about $32 million a year for them. There goes your reason why Larry Merlo gets a raise every year.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Congrats to new school that opened post 2012 and all the "leaders" from APhA who became their deans.

Reactions: 1 users
This is an example of what I meant when I previously stated that it's not just an issue of finding a job in the first place, but also one of actually *wanting* to work in retail, especially with salaries being so much lower now than they were even just a year or two ago. Even for (some of) those of us who are unemployed new grads, the motivation just isn't there. But apparently it throws up red flags for someone to decide that they don't have enough natural passion or interest in the field anymore and would rather train for a different career, so whatever. Are there seriously any other professions in which it looks bad to immediately transition into something else without getting a job in the field first, or is that just another unique-to-pharmacy-ism?

• Haha
Reactions: 1 user