Neuro match 2019 for DO student applying with Comlex only

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iben_Sina

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to SDN community and I don't know if this is the right forum to post my question here, so I apologize in advance if it is the wrong forum.

I am currently third year osteopathic medical student and I am very interested in pursuing neurology MD residency program, I would like to list my qualifications and then my questions come after:

1- 724 Comlex 1 score ~ 99 percentile in DO world (have not taken USMLE 1).

2- Top 10% in my class (Honored most of my pre-clinical courses, including neuro, for the first two years in).

3- Doing great so far in my 3rd clinical clerckships.

4- 2 years of basic science research before medical school (oral/poster presentations, awards, abstracts and bench work. No publications thought yet other than abstracts in conference journals)

My questions:

1- What are my chances to get matched in an academic MD neurology residency program with heavy opportunity for research without taking USMLE step 1 or 2.

2- If my chances are low without taking any USMLE, do you advice me to take USMLE 1 or USMLE 2 to increases my chances?

3- Is taking USMLE step 2 only will be enough? and what score range is considered competitive to match in an academic neuro-program?

I would appreciate any input. Thanks,

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
FWIW I have similar COMLEX scores/academics/research to you and multiple residency programs (specifically academic programs) have commented that they really appreciated my taking USMLE 1 and 2. I got the impression that programs have a harder time evaluating a COMLEX score, especially programs with few/no DO residents in the past.