What should students be thinking about when considering applying neuro?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PathNeuroIMorFM

Reaction score
I'm a US-MD student who just finished their neuro rotation (and a neuro + path research year) I really liked it, but it is competing with my interest in pathology. Both have been my interests since day 1 of med school.

I love neuro for the flexibility. Being able to work anywhere and everywhere. ICU, outpatient, inpatient, rehab, telehealth. Wide range of fellowships. Ability for good lifestyle post-residency. It has the most interesting cases in medicine by a mile. Feels very detective-like, which is why I got into medicine. Rounding and social work/dispo kind of kill me, though. I also have zero outpatient experience.

I love the workflow of path more. I like the bench, driving the scope, leadership opportunities, the details. The kicker is the lack of flexibility kind of kills me. Less employable outside of large hospitals and private groups or conglomerates, which is pretty important to me.

Seeing patients is kind of a neutral point for me. I don't absolutely love it, but I don't absolutely hate it either.

What else should I consider when considering neuro?

Members don't see this ad.

Majority of neurology will be outpatient based, so it would be important to also gain exposure to some of the subspecialty clinic to see if you are truly interested in neurology.