Need advice please - Career Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Relentless1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

After much googling and reading posts in these forums, I'm hoping to get some sound advice on my situation here as I've seen many helpful souls respond to others...

I am a Caribbean med school graduate (2011) - (not one of the "top 5") - am ECFMG certified, still have Step 3 remaining, excellent LORs, but have not been able to secure a residency...mainly because I have multiple attempts on Step 1 and 2 CK with, literally, just-passing scores. I am passionate about Psychiatry and FM, but am open to TY or anything at this point, really. I have gone on to get my MHA and MPH recently. I have seen that an MD without a license really means nothing and has no value. I desperately still want to be a practicing physician - but don't know what I can do to get there.

What is done is done (exams), and I can't change my performance, but what can I do now to at least get one interview in the Match?

Has anyone heard about an internship year in Puerto Rico which provides a license that can be used in the US - is this true?

I am based in FL - does anyone know of any unique opportunities here? I heard of the 'House Physician' position, however, that also seems to require licensure?

Any other career paths or ideas for me with my MD, MHA, MPH but no license?

I would really appreciate your time and any guidance you could provide!!! Many thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

This is a tough one. There are a couple major issues here that would be difficult to overcome alone but all together it's a poor outlook sort of situation.

The biggest issue is years since graduation (sometimes referred to as YOG) - you graduated in 2011, for next cycle it would have been 8 years since you graduated and 2 entire classes of students would have entered and graduated.