Musical apitude?

New Vocab

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Who here plays an instrument at present or has the ability to play one?

If so, which one?

I'm in late adolescence and I want to learn how to play an instrument. Is it a realistic goal to have learned how to play the violin in a year (I could play a little as a child)?

Members don't see this ad.

If so, which one?

I'm in late adolescence and I want to learn how to play an instrument. Is it a realistic goal to have learned how to play the violin in a year (I could play a little as a child)?

Violin. Yeah, you could learn the violin in a year.

violin is one of the hardest things to learn how to play...but, I'm sure you'll be able to learn if you dedicate yourself to it. I always wanted to either play the violin or piano...never got around to it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I play the guitar, drums, and piano.

I am a guitarist in a band, and I can tell you from experience that it's never too late to start! My friend is 18, and he just started playing guitar. I have been teaching him every now and then, showing him scales and things, and now he is getting very good and he recently joined the band.

Playing an instrument is all about practice, practice, practice. If you want to get better, you will. If you just let your instrument sit there while you hope to be good, you won't make any progress.

Cool, I play Piano, Violin, Drums (and other percussion eg Vibraphone etc)

You might be able to, depending on how long you are willing to spend on it.

An instrument such as guitar or piano is certainly more realistic, however, as violin is one of the harder instruments to learn, and is usually started at a younger age as young children find it much easier to learn than when they are older.