MSUCOM (w/ scholarship) v. CCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msaa

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Was wondering if anybody had an opinion on which direction to go?

I'm a CA resident and here are my thoughts!

MSUCOM
Pros: Great interview day, felt awesome about the faculty that I met, and there seemed to be a great sense of camaraderie with the few students on the panel, but I have to take this with a grain of salt.
- extensive opportunities within your first two years for medical missions, 4th year rotations at 3rd world spanish speaking countries... including the first US medical school to partner with Cuba
- extensive research opportunities, though with summer semesters... is this a moot point?
- well-renowned faculty... but does that mean great teaching quality?
- Big Ten intangibles: atmosphere, campus facilities, etc
- Statewide Hospital System - they boast of great teaching being done at every base hospital they partner with. I feel this is important, to feel like it's a guarantee that you'll be taught something in your clinical years. I'm not one for rural medicine, and the thought of potentially being caught up at a rural hospital because of lottery is scary, but at least I'll be confident that I'll be taught something valuable.
- great reputation/ranking/everyone knows the MSU name, if that's important.
- P/NP classes
- all lectures recorded
- one test every week/few weeks for all subjects

Cons: I'd have to re-apply for OOS scholarship each year. Though there aren't that many OOS students to begin with. So chances might be 50/50 and I'd hope to get it if I pass all my classes and remain involved in community outreach as originally planned
- untested curriculum, no COMLEX score/pass rates since this year was the first year they implemented the "board focused" change
- city of chicago > all other cities/towns in MI