MSUCOM vs. CCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

funfriendlyfiller

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am torn on this decision and would very much appreciate any guidance/advice you all can offer.

CCOM
Pros
  • Close to family (I am an IL resident and will have two siblings within 30 minutes each from campus)
  • Girlfriend (almost fiance) is also 30 minutes away and in her first year of dental school
  • Precision Medicine research (I have multiple research projects as well as a master's degree in this field)
  • Strong religious population/community (Muslim)
  • Nice campus and I am familiar with the town/ location as I have lived in Illinois for the past 11 years
  • I have connections across Chicago and rotations are all within Chicagoland
  • I would ideally like to match into a competitive Internal Medicine Program, then Cardiology Fellowship within Chicago\
  • Has the NIH research program I currently work with
  • Good match list

Cons
  • Tuition is insanely high (83k); when you add living expenses that's around 120k per year
  • Graded ABCF and ranked :(
  • Frequent Exams (like every week or two)

MSUCOM
Pros
  • Cheaper (but not sure how much the tuition is exactly); I think it would be 44k for tuition and with all expenses around 70k yearly)
  • Strong NIH research funding (I conduct research with the NIH currently through a specialized program)
  • Bigger campus (I indicated East Lansing as 1 and Detroit as 2); I attended UIUC for undergrad so I imagine it would be a similar vibe
  • Have siblings and aunts/uncles nearby
  • Pass/Fail for preclinical; over 70% is a Pass (ranking is in tertiles)
  • Good match list

Cons
  • Not Chicago; not my hometown; everything would be new to me
  • Multiple hours away from my girlfriend/ closer siblings
  • Less connections in Michigan
  • Rotations are spread out and not as concentrated (to the best of my knowledge