med student looking for MBA advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

weezyzeew

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
h

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
First time poster looking for advice- i'm a 3rd year med student that is miserable with med school and interested in different career choice. But still something that is related to health care in some way (administration, consulting, etc). Some questions...

1. how can i hedge my bets? like if i did a transitional/prelim year after med school to take step 3, and then went to business school, could i still be competitive in a non-competitive residency (IM, neurology, EM) in the future?

2. how difficult is it for a MD to get into a top business school? I went to a top-5 college, am at a state med school, probably about at the 2nd quartile of my class, did mediocre on step 1.

3. for other MD/MBA's, when would you advise getting an MBA? I've been quite disillusioned with medicine and so I'm quite certain that i won't practice in the future. But still I view residency as a backup that i'd like to have in case my post-business career doesn't work out. basically, what path would close the least number of doors?

4. i have little experience in finance, though it is something i think i would be quite interested in. would this hurt me in gaining admission to a top biz school? also, would it be hard for me to do well in biz school?

Thanks for your help guys, if you know of any good MD/MBA message boards/websites, please feel free to post.

1. assuming you are an AMG, you would still be reasonably competitive for IM/FP

3. after residency

Members don't see this ad :)
It would be best if you finish your residency. Aim for the shortest one.