MBA from which Univ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loku

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a first year medical student (DO program) and I was thinking of getting an MBA degree with a DO degree as well. My question is:
1.Does it matter which MBA school you get your MBA from? I mean, my univ. (Lincoln Memorial univ.) has an MBA program but I am not sure if I should get MBA from my univ. or from some other univ who have a better MBA program?
2.Does it matter where you get your MBA degree from? I know for non medical students, they prefer to get MBA from a really good university. Does this same principle apply for medical students as well?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not really seeing a difference between question 1 & 2, but I'll say this--it depends on what you want to do with the MBA. You'll learn the same material in most any MBA program. I would try to go for one accredited by the AACSB (accredited, not just a member), as that is the gold standard for b-schools. LMU is accredited by ACBSP, which accredits (if I understand correctly) non-research oriented b-schools. If you just want to learn about business to run your own practice, I'm sure LMU would be fine. Actually, I really doubt you'll run into any scenario as a physician where it matters where you got your MBA. So...ignore everything I just said and just go wherever is cheapest/easiest to fit in between your medical curriculum. Disclaimer: I'm not a physician.