Masters Finance then MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dareball

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an undergrad student and am planning to graduate a year early so I can enroll in a Masters of Finance program before medical school. The program would only last one year, replacing my senior year of college, and allow me to enter medical school with a masters and B.A. in business administration so I wouldn't have to be duel enrolled through medical school. I was wondering what type of positions if any would it be beneficial to do this, and to what extent these degrees would broaden my choice of career paths, while allowing at least moderate use of both areas of knowledge. I plan on being an orthopedic surgeon one day and opening my own practice. Obviously I would not be running the financial affairs of the practice while still operating and practicing. To what extent could I use such a combination of degrees if somewhere down the road I was to move away from practicing and more towards administration?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Dareball said: