Medical student doing a finance summer internship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

irish.medic237

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a medical student in Ireland in my 3rd year of a six year medical programme. I won't lie I'm no longer sure if medicine is for me, when in school I loved business and everything to do with the world of finance and I loved biology and everything about the human body and how it worked in general. I had a tough decision when applying for college but eventually decided on medicine. Now I'm not so sure I made the right decision. I have several questions:
1. Would it be absolutely unheard of for medical students to apply and gain a place on an investment banking or consulting summer internship?
2. Does anyone have any experience they could share with me of this?
3. As I am an undergraduate student would I apply for a summer analyst or associate programme?
4. Which summer should I apply to do it in?
I'd just like to thank you all in advance for your help

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I'm a medical student in Ireland in my 3rd year of a six year medical programme. I won't lie I'm no longer sure if medicine is for me, when in school I loved business and everything to do with the world of finance and I loved biology and everything about the human body and how it worked in general. I had a tough decision when applying for college but eventually decided on medicine. Now I'm not so sure I made the right decision. I have several questions:
1. Would it be absolutely unheard of for medical students to apply and gain a place on an investment banking or consulting summer internship?
2. Does anyone have any experience they could share with me of this?
3. As I am an undergraduate student would I apply for a summer analyst or associate programme?
4. Which summer should I apply to do it in?
I'd just like to thank you all in advance for your help