Lopressor IV... how much I hate it.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Faebinder

Slow Wave Smurf
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just ranting at the evil medication.

Our floor policy (as in the floor where I admit 90% of my patients) frigging wont give lopressor IV even if the person was on lopressor PO prior to admission. As you can imagine, many of the patients cant take PO, pick your variety of reasons: SBO, Postoperative Ileus, Sigmoid Cancer, blah blah blah.

And so... here comes the heart rate of 150-160 and nurses calling at night... Faebinder... do something.. (argh!!! Must move the patient to telemtry)... check with the chief resident... does not want to move the patient to the telemtry floor AKA "The Death Star".... phone call number 9 and finally a stat nurse is called and he gives the patient IV lopressor and I was like... WTH? They told me they cant do that on the floor... "Yeah, but I am a stat nurse, I can do that." At 4:30 am I just gave up and decided to take the burn. I moved him to the "Death Star" where they finally gave him Lopressor IV and Faebinder was able to get 1.5 hours of sleep before needing to preround.

The moral of the story... I hate lopressor.

Members don't see this ad.

That's the moral of your story?!

For all the stupid crap I get told "I can't push that!" by the floor nurses, I just have them draw it up and go push it myself. The conversation usually goes like this:

Me: "Can you draw me up 5mg of Lopressor?"
RN: "I can't push that up here!"
Me: "I know, I'll push it."
RN: "Do you know how to push it?"
Me: "Not really, no. I thought I'd just shove it in there."
RN: "Oh my God! You can't do that! I'd better come with you to show you how to do it."
Me: "That would be great! Thanks so much."

Not really a solution for the meds that need to be given frequently (Fentanyl, dilaudid) but it can save you an ICU transfer some times.