This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desprt2beavet

Reaction score
I started off freshman year great. I'm a biology major. I had a 3.7 gpa first semester. Second semester rolls around, i'm in 100% science classes and a psych class, and I end up with straight C's and a cumulative gpa of 2.7. I'm SO disappointed in myself even though I did work really hard; but I had some personal problems going on at the time that we're definitely deflecting my attention.

I'm now in first semester of my sophomore year. I'm in Cellular and Molecular bio, Organic Chem 1, Physics 1, and Ecology. I'm on the track to get a B or higher in both cellular bio and physics, currently sitting at a C in Organic Chemistry after 2 68% exams, and Ecology is screwing me over completely (D course grade at the moment, only had 1 failed test and my jerk of a teacher put our course grade atm as our midterm grade, so double that D for me.) I have a feeling I will end up with highest a C in Ecology because my prof is a hard grader. I think I can get up to at least a B- in Orgo. How the hell can I come back from my 2.7 last semester?! Do I still have time to come back from it? Will I be one of those people who have to go for my masters (I DO NOT WANT TO DO THIS) because of my crappy undergraduate GPA? I am making use of office hours and tutoring services as much as I can.

Is it possible for me to make it back to at least a 3.5 or 3.6 by time I apply to vet schools? Please help!

Members don't see this ad.

I started off freshman year great. I'm a biology major. I had a 3.7 gpa first semester. Second semester rolls around, i'm in 100% science classes and a psych class, and I end up with straight C's and a cumulative gpa of 2.7. I'm SO disappointed in myself even though I did work really hard; but I had some personal problems going on at the time that we're definitely deflecting my attention.