Is there anyone who doesn’t get to wear a long white coat?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutrrENT

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m an ENT resident, and quite frankly I’m getting pretty sick and tired of seeing mid-level providers waltzing around in long white coats as though they are the same thing as doctors.

Some RN’s wear long white coats, even. Hell, I’ve even seen a few social workers wearing them.

When I’m done with residency, I am going to chuck my white coat and never wear one again. Once the mid-levels started wearing them, it became a completely meaningless item. Wearing the white coat seems to send the message to people that you could be something other than a doctor.

Maybe doctors (i.e. physicians, dentists, podiatrists, optometrists, and veterinarians) should start wearing green coats -- something to distinguish us from everyone else who wishes they were us.

Just my rant.

Members don't see this ad.

Maybe doctors (i.e. physicians, dentists, podiatrists, optometrists, and veterinarians) should start wearing green coats -- something to distinguish us from everyone else who wishes they were us.

But then the golfers would get mad.

Wizard hats. Then patient's can be like, "That woman is wearing a wizard hat, she's not a nurse, she's a doctor!"

Wizard hats. Then patient's can be like, "That woman is wearing a wizard hat, she's not a nurse, she's a doctor!"

Personally, I would also feel 100% comfortable/safe with someone in a wizard hat treating me. What, you think the WIZARD isn't going to be able to fix my ailments? You think the WIZARD will let harm come to me???

... I think not.

Midlevels trying to be like physicians reminds me of those KIA adds that compare a kia to a mercedes, and at the end of the day the only thing they communicate is that they feel inferior.

I've seen people rock the black coats. They stay "clean" longer.