Is it too late for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Whatthefut

Reaction score
I'm a third year dental student and we've started treating patients in clinicals this year. It's going great, and I really love communicating with patients, listening to their concerns, and making a change in their oral health. I perform okay in clinic - I'm definitely not the top of the class, but I can definitely say I do a decent job. I started dental school with the attitude that I want to be a GP with no intention of specializing. I'm from another city and it's already been a big burden moving away from my home town to study. I'm also married which adds more reason to want to finish school sooner. I had no intention on specializing when I first started and therefore studied just enough to pass my exams. The rest of my time is allocated towards my wife, my home and my other interests. I was happy with my performance up until third year when we got a clearer exposure to specialties, and in particular oral surgery. I realized that I am really fascinated by oral surgery and that it gives me a feeling of challenge and excitement that dentistry does not give me. Not to say that dentistry is too easy for me - dentistry is really hard, and I am probably ranked in the lower third of my class. But it doesn't fascinate me the way oral surgery does. I can see myself performing complicated extractions and surgeries and actually enjoying it more than I can see myself doing basic dentistry for the rest of my life. Dentistry is definitely challenging and very comprehensive, but it doesn't give me the mental stimulation that oral surgery does. However I just feel like it might be too late to even consider it anymore, mainly due to my low grades. I also haven't done any research on the side. Should I completely disregard my consideration for oral surgery at this point? Is there still a bit of hope for me left? If so, what shou