Is DO possible after MD school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TreeDoctor

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Hello SDN, I'm a US student who moved from New York to study medicine abroad in Asia.
However, things are tight financially (no loans, paying out of pocket) and family issues have made me decide to change my path. I have one year left to graduate but its not that simple. Even after graduating I'd need a few years and $$ to prepare for match which is far from guaranteed.

Anyways,
I'm 1 year away from finishing my degree here, but am ready to drop out and join a Post bacc/SMP program to prepare for DO applications.
Should I drop out or finish this degree before applying to DO schools?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You shouldn’t lie. Ever. Financial hardship? American medical schools are among the most expensive in the world. Also, is it a carib or other medical school

• Dislike
Reactions: 1 users
Asian MD school. I see, I will give them all the info then.

Does it make sense to finish the degree or just quit now?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Asian MD. I see, I will give them all the info then.

Does it make sense to finish the degree or just quit now?

If you're going to quit a medical program in another country because of financial hardships, going to the US isn't going to help. DO and MD programs in the US are some of the most expensive in the world, and you'll face the exact same hardships (if not worse) here if you're currently facing them at home.

This is notwithstanding the fact that previously dropping out of medical school is one of the biggest red flags that exist on any med school application.

Finish your degree.

Financially it would be way easier since I could get loans for a DO. Right now I'm paying out of pocket.