Is anyone here in the same boat?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gschl1234

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's my situation:

This is my first attempt at applying to medical school. I have been accepted to 2 places but it looks like I may not be able to attend either because my husband cannot find a job in either of the two locations. I am unsure that I will get any more interviews, let alone offers this year.

My questions:
Has anyone else gone through a similar situation?
What did you end up doing the next year?
How do adcoms view re-applicants who appear to have nothing "wrong" with their application? Do they assume that I did not get accepted at any schools in the previes year and then had to reapply for that reason? If they assume that I'm reapplying because I couldn't get accepted anywhere, could they then assume that there IS something "wrong" with me that my application doesn't show, making that the justification for my previous rejections? In my mind this could be a huge set-back (or am I being too extreme?).

I'm just feeling very sad and unsure about this and any advice would be very welcome.

Members don't see this ad.

Could you defer one of those acceptances to give your husband a year to find a job in that location?

Congrats on your acceptance! I would defer a year to see if your husband can find a job near one of the schools. This leaves the issue of which offer to accept and which to decline, however. I don't have any advice for that situation, unfortunately. Best of luck in trying to work things out, and good luck to your husband in job-hunting.

Cheers,
KJ

Members don't see this ad :)