Introducing myself!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PTnTX

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I wanted to ask for advice and opinions on working while I was going back to school to take my prerequisites in order to apply to physical therapy programs. First I would like to give a little background information. I am a non-traditional student and one of those people who did not "develop" a true idea for what I wanted to do in life until I had a series of negative events happen to me. I graduated with a degree that I really did not want to pursue after some personal reflection and the fact that my true passion has always been in health, biomechanics, nutrition, fitness, etc. After a lot of research a few years ago I decided that physical therapy was possibly something I wanted to pursue. I even spoke with an advisor for a PT program that told me flat out that most people in my position (person in their late twenties going back to college) would fail, kind of discouraging.

Around the same time I injured my back and was advised by some doctors to have surgery but I declined. A friend of mine introduced me to a high end trainer that worked with predominantly athletes, many who were coming off on injuries. After working with him for around a year I went from hardly being able to squat, sprint, or jump to playing basketball, football, and overall living a life without worrying about my injury. The experience changed my entire opinion and solidified what I wanted to do. I know there are others who need the same level of attention I was [thankfully] given.

A year after (recently) my girlfriend of 3+ years got into grad school and left me after I had stayed with her while she was getting her undergrad. I pretty much felt like dirt but I feel like things happen for a reason and I am now in the position where I can start school with support from my friends and family.