Did I screw myself over?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZosoEquus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated high school with a 2.9 in 2008 and went to a four year university that fall, changing my major three times over my course there (started as athletic training, then pre-vet biology, finally decided on psychology). I did not take school seriously, at all (as with high school), and ended up on academic probation after failing many classes. I moved back up home in 2010 with only 30 credits to show after two years at school. After taking a year off to work, I was motivated to get back into school. I transferred to a community college. I completed as much as I could there, and now I just started my first semester at a small nearby four year university. My current GPA is a 3.1.

My major has been psychology for a while now, but as I get closer and closer to finishing school, I have realized that although I like psychology, I am really put off by poor job prospects and cost/amount of schooling I would have to put in in order to secure even just a mediocre job. My mother is a pharmacist, so I have always been interested in doing something in the medical field. I have also had a strong interest and done well in science classes. I started researching different careers and physical therapy really seemed to suit me well. I haven't done any shadowing yet, I will be starting next month. My boyfriend hurt his back recently and I have also been going with him to his sessions.