Internship vs working as GP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alabastertree

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone- Was wondering if you could give me some advice. I'm a recent graduate (this year), and was hired on as a GP for a year, with mentorship. Seemed like the perfect situation, and I really liked working there- until I got laid off because the expected expansion to evening hours (and increase in clientele) never happened. I asked for advice at the exit interview, and was told that some clients had complained that I didn't seem confident- they recommended an internship as a way to improve this. My question is this- is an internship the best thing for a person in my situation? I know the AVMA research indicates that there isn't a huge improvement salary wise between doing an internship and working a few years. There are a few things I'm really interested in (ophthalmology, behavior), so I wouldn't be entirely averse to an internship, but I'm not sure I want to spend another 3-4 years in internship and residency- feeling a bit burned out with school. I've also got a few other influencing factors: my GPA isn't that great b/c I had to repeat a year d/t family illness, and I can't move wherever with the scramble b/c of my significant other. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Most new grads aren't confident. An internship will only potentially help you gain confidence in some areas, but not in most of the areas that a GP is expected to be knowledgeable in. I was definitely more confident in my abilities to manage critical patients (HBC, DKA, seizure patient, etc) following my internship, however I would not have known what to do with a derm/behaviour case (and I still don't). In your case, I would not seek out an internship. You'll gain more confidence with time/experience, and in the meantime - fake it until you make it!

Reactions: 1 user