international med grad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmeait

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi im an international medical graduate. i did step one in november and got a pretty decent score. im planning to do step 2 in june ( both ck and cs). my interest is in urology and i know how competitive that field is so im just asking advice on alternatives incase i dont match and how to make myself more likely to match in this field. thanks alot in advance

Members don't see this ad.

hi im an international medical graduate. i did step one in november and got a pretty decent score. im planning to do step 2 in june ( both ck and cs). my interest is in urology and i know how competitive that field is so im just asking advice on alternatives incase i dont match and how to make myself more likely to match in this field. thanks alot in advance
user_online.gif
progress.gif

I think you'll get more response down in the Surgery/Urology section.

Members don't see this ad :)
Chances for you to match into urology as an IMG are almost zero. I have never met an IMG urology resident. The reason is because there are very few spots, and it is a very, very popular field among US medical students right now. Even the majority of US medical students with good USMLE scores cannot get into urology because it is so ultracompetitive. I went to a medical school ranked in the top 10 in the US and we had several people who wanted to do things like urology and plastic surgery and dermatology who just couldn't do it because they could get in - all had good USMLE scores as well. You basically have to have a perfect application to get one of those - great letters of recommendation, high USMLE Scores, probably some research and almost have to go to a US school.