Imposter syndrome tips for a new grad please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KoolKat123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

So I'm a 2020 grad that started a job at a GP practice 2 months ago. At first I started off seeing mainly puppies and adults and then they transitioned me to mainly skin/ear/wellness cases. Well now I'm "open for business" for the most part. For this whole time I've been fighting pretty bad anxiety, imposter syndrome, and confidence issues that has been present mainly since my 4th year. I have an amazing mentor who has never made me feel dumb for asking a question but I constantly feel like I'm bothering her. I start panicking when there's any type of emergency even if another vet is taking care of the case. I spend most of my time at work thinking that my support staff are going to realize that I'm incompetent and don't deserve to be a vet. I know that this is a transition that most vets go through but I was hoping that by this time I would at least feel confident in doing something as simple as a dog neuter.

I have dreamed, loved, and worked towards becoming a DVM basically since I could talk. Now that I'm here I dread going into work and I really don't quite know what to do. My fiance and all of my friends are across the country so I have no in person support system (besides my extended family whom I'm avoiding due to COVID concerns). Any advice that you guys have would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone!