IMG medical school or reapplication to the U.S. schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

s.nd

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm an international student who applied straight through and got only 1 interview invite from a T3 school and was waitlisted (I thought the interviews went pretty well. Maybe it didn't go as well as I thought or maybe my MCAT held me back since this school loves high stats). I also recently got into a medical school located outside the U.S. who has a strong U.S. match list every year (mostly IM). I'm weighing my options and don't know what to do. My goal is to do residency in the U.S. so I'm thinking maybe I should take 2 gap years and reapply to U.S. schools but I also wonder what if I turn down this offer and don't get into medical school after gap years?

I would really appreciate any insight :)

Some info about me:

GPA: >3.8
MCAT between 510 and 515
School: HYP Ivy

activities:

• I'm the first person from my high school to pursue an education outside my country, and I have been mentoring students from my country through a mentoring organization. I am also an outreach coordinator for the same org (400hr)
  • work as a course assistant and tutor students on organic chemistry, general chemistry, biochemistry, and biology (300 hr)
  • volunteer at a nursing home that also has some patients on hospice care (I do room visits, play card games with them, sing, and just listen to their stories!): around 200hr by the time I apply
  • volunteer at a hospital doing patient transport (200)
  • volunteer at a homeless shelter playing with kids (180)
  • blood donor ambassador at Red Cross and volunteering coordinator (150 hr )
  • Shadowing (50 hr)
  • events coordinator for my country's society at my school (100hr)
  • English tutor for PhD students from my country who apply to U.S. universities and needed help with learning English
  • music and dance (hobbies)