I need help...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

billiken10

I hated headgear.
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, here is the deal. I applied for last years class and was waitlisted, which doesn't mean much of anything, at three schools. Here were my stats:

DAT:
AA 19
GC 16
OC 20
BS 18
TS 18
RC 25
QR 18
PA 20

GPA: 3.25 overall
2.76 science

Result: Not matriculated at any of 11 schools.

Now, I'm not surprised that I was not accepted last year and I have worked extensively to see that I improve my position and maintain contact with the schools to which I applied. I have excellent dental experience and contacts, good volunteer work and very good letters of recommendation. I finished my degree (English B.A.) and am now attending a state university as a grad student, taking as many upper division bio classes as possible and working in the clinic at the university's dental school. I have applied to six schools this year and have been deferred by CWRU and have only one contact showing any kind of promise at all. I thought maybe I could retake the DAT and try to punch it up to a 21, so after a 16 month gap I spent three weeks cramming my brain full of the Kaplan DAT book and this morning this is what I got:

DAT:
AA 19
GC 16
OC 19
BS 18
QR 18
RC 24
PA 18
TS 18 (pretty much the same damned score)

My GPA is now a 3.32 overall, with sciGPA of about 2.84-ish.

My question to you all is: If you were me, what would you be doing? I really don't know what else I can do. I might retake the DAT at a later date and give myself more than 3 weeks to prep but outside of that, do I just wait it out again?

Billiken10 :( :scared: :mad: :confused:

PS - Sorry about the novel and thank you to anyone who reads the whole thing...

Members don't see this ad.