I got a 2220 SAT, am I smart enough to get into med school?

D0NQUIXOTE

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Go to college first.

This. Everyone is "smart enough" if you have the drive to get the grades and perform on the MCAT and do the volunteering and shadowing and everything else that comes with it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I got a 1270 on the SAT and went to the state school. I am sure you are smart enough.

just because you got those great stats does not mean you will get into med school... a lot of times students just don't apply themselves in high school and dont unleash their potential... in college often times these students start working hard and before you know it are the top of the class....

i am an example of that student who got into multiple med schools... people thought that I would not succeed in college because of my performance in high school... and they were so wrong.... in my own chem class, there were many valedictorians, and I saw a lot of them either get weeded out or not do well at all... and there were average joe's in high school who were getting an A in the class

my point is, go to college and see how you do... but congrats on such great stats in high school.

though I will say that I did really really really well on the SAT (1470)... but my high school GPA was nowhere even close to match my performance on the SAT... like less than a 3.0 WEIGHTED... u can imagine people were really scratching their heads when they saw my application

Last edited:
...but can you take the heat?

Yeah, go to college first. Then see where you stand.

College was nothing like high school for me. I didn't even have to study to breeze through high school. College was a bit of a shock.

In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if a significant number of high school geniuses do worse in the first semester or so of college than those with lower grades who weren't naturally smart and had to learn to study early.