How to make Ob/Gyn work with Global Health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SCmedstudent

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a medical student planning to go into Ob/Gyn. I also manage a nonprofit abroad. My ideal career would have me working 9 months out of the year in the U.S. with three months to do global health work abroad. Is it possible to make this work in Ob/Gyn? Some advisors I have talked to think it is unlikely. I wouldn't mind sacrificing salary.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all, I am a medical student planning to go into Ob/Gyn. I also manage a nonprofit abroad. My ideal career would have me working 9 months out of the year in the U.S. with three months to do global health work abroad. Is it possible to make this work in Ob/Gyn? Some advisors I have talked to think it is unlikely. I wouldn't mind sacrificing salary.

Won't work in private practice or any type of health system. Your value is seeing patients and providing care.

What do you mean by global health work? Seeing patients abroad? Surgical mission type trip? Doing OBGYN in a third world country?

Would you be willing to work part time? Then you may be able to make it work. Most likely in an academic setting but you would need a supportive chair.

Reactions: 1 user
Yes it’s possible if you align your career goals in the right spaces. Through academics there are tons of global health programs and departments. I know multiple people who are in obgyn that also do stuff in other countries.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes it’s possible if you align your career goals in the right spaces. Through academics there are tons of global health programs and departments. I know multiple people who are in obgyn that also do stuff in other countries.
Thank you AMEHigh! This response means a lot. Would you mind potentially messaging me their contact info?