How much chemistry do you actually encounter in vet school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fdvet

Reaction score
Hi! I will be starting vet school in the fall. I took o-chem and biochem during the pandemic and do not feel confident at all in my knowledge of either subject. Does vet school content touch on chemistry content in depth? Will this material be re-taught in vet school? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm only in my first year but I've encountered a good bit of gen chem, biochem, and o-chem in my physiology, immunology, and pharmacology courses. I wouldn't say I feel confident in my biochem/o-chem knowledge either, but I'm doing well. The material we use from those courses is typically general/broader concepts that you probably know more about than you realize. Or it's something you can quickly review with a youtube video. I wish I didn't listen to the people who told me you don't use certain prereqs for vet school. I loved biochem and my background knowledge helps me grasp certain topics faster in physiology, whereas in pharm I had to go back and review some chemistry. You'll be fine either way. I wouldn't recommend studying before vet school, just review the topics you need to know as they come up in lectures. It's rare that I have to go back and review things from prereqs, but I do it occassionally

Reactions: 7 users
Anything related to biochem/chemistry has been in context with other things which really helps — i was never great at chemistry but there really hasn’t been much. Pharmacology is the closest to having heavy biochem/chem topics but I did well in the pharmacology i’ve had so far!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)