How do I explain my low undergrad GPA without throwing a pity party?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neosp0rin

Reaction score
Non-traditional/late stage career change student here, applying to pre-med postbacc programs for Fall 2020.

I graduated undergrad from a state university in California back in 2008. My undergrad GPA was 2.6. Liberal arts major, no science courses, ridiculously easy curriculum that I still failed at. Since then, I've completed a Master's degree at Columbia U in architecture and have had a pretty good career in architecture and design. I had to submit a visual design portfolio for this program, I excel in the visual arts and am an above average test taker so that's why my uGPA wasn't much of a factor for Columbia.

A few applications are giving me an opportunity to explain any discrepancies in my academic history. I have good reasons for doing so poorly in undergrad, but I want to avoid indulging in a pity party. Basically, I grew up in a very broken home. In and out of foster homes much of my life, went to 3 different high schools, depression, witnessed a lot of violence and loss, minimal to no connection to my parents. It's a miracle I even made it to undergrad. I had zero guidance or precedent in my life. I was basically feral child, my outcome in life so far is as good as it could have possibly been, I've been very blessed despite my past mistakes. I had to learn about life through trial and error and by making mistakes and learning things the hard way, there was never a such thing as a parent holding my hand - ever. I also dealt with depression and mild substance abuse during undergrad.