How did you prepare for NBPME/APMLE part 3?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilovelamp2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I am a 1st year podiatry resident and we have to take boards part 3 this year. I've asked multiple people how they prepared for part 3 and almost all say they "don't even remember because it was so easy." This does not help me! I would like to know what the difference is between parts 2 and 3 (the outline on the website doesn't seem to have much of a difference between the two). Did you prepare the exact same way for 3 as you did part 2? Please let me know your thoughts so I can come up with a game plan for part 3. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there, I am a 1st year podiatry resident and we have to take boards part 3 this year. I've asked multiple people how they prepared for part 3 and almost all say they "don't even remember because it was so easy." This does not help me! I would like to know what the difference is between parts 2 and 3 (the outline on the website doesn't seem to have much of a difference between the two). Did you prepare the exact same way for 3 as you did part 2? Please let me know your thoughts so I can come up with a game plan for part 3. THANKS SO MUCH!!!!!

In my last podiatry externship, residents there told me the reading review material is same as for Part 2. IF you feel you need to read for review, read 2 weeks before the Part 3 test. 2 weeks is plenty.

Anyone have any other input? For part II, I used First Aid USMLE II for medicine, radiology class notes, various McGlamry chapters like anesthesiology, internal fixation etc, and certain parts of Hershey and Presby for things like inpatient management, trauma care, pre/postop management.