Honestly dentistry sucks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

privatedds

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Its repetitive mind numbing job. Pretty close to guys in third world making nike shoes for living. Only reason to do it was because it paid well but thats not even true anymore.

Dental school costs 500k. If you add residency that requires tuition, thats going close to a Mil. And you just wasted 7 years of your life after undergrad.

Seriously wth man. I graduated over 10 years ago so I barely made it but guys going into this profession now, it will be tough.

Look at my another thread. Just do OS or GP implant guy if you want money.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 5 users
Its repetitive mind numbing job. Pretty close to guys in third world making nike shoes for living. Only reason to do it was because it paid well but thats not even true anymore.

Dental school costs 500k. If you add residency that requires tuition, thats going close to a Mil. And you just wasted 7 years of your life after undergrad.

Seriously wth man. I graduated over 10 years ago so I barely made it but guys going into this profession now, it will be tough.

Look at my another thread. Just do OS or GP implant guy if you want money.
I mean yea, if you are wired to do OMFS you should absolutely pursue it. Incredible income potential. But, dude, they earn it. “Just do OMFS” sounds kind of ridiculous. It’s an incredibly challenging path and profession. Definitely not meant for everyone. Tons of risk and terrible patients to deal with. There’s a reason they make a ton of money. I do agree though, dentistry does kind of suck. Definitely easier ways to make good money.

Reactions: 9 users