$$$...Help me, Rural ED Hourly Rate, what is appropriate? (ed boarded)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thejangler2013

thejangler
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone

I am a 3rd EM resident in good standing who is applying to Rural Emergency Departments in the upper midwest. Time for a real job!. I am focusing on rural emergency departments on the lower side of volume range. Ex 9k-14k patients per year with mostly 12 and 24 hours shifts with small attached hospitals.

Most are critical access hospitals (not glamorous cities or towns). I have a few location/contract options with some being employed by the hospital and others by staffing agencies. The Ed's are typically staffed with a mix of EM and family physicians, although the trend seems to the places are trying to staff more towards ED physicians. Most ED directors here are EM boarded. I feel like I am getting low-balled in the 150-175$.hr range, people at my residency in another part of the country tell me not accept anything less than 200$/hr.

1. What is an acceptable hourly rate for a EM trained doc. (not including basic benefits like retirement etc,)

2. Do I "deserve" more because I am EM trained and not Family trained like the other docs at these places? (I feel like they are trying to pay me as a family med doc)

3. What would be acceptable for a sign-on bonus and loan repayment?

Members don't see this ad.

I think a lot depends on how hard you're going to have to work. 10-20 pt in 24 hours? The range you cite is probably appropriate. 15-25 in 12 hours? At least 200-250+ is probably more like it.

I would think you're not going to find a place with different pay scale in the same department for ABEM vs Family Med. That's a recipe for sore feelings. After all, how would you feel as the experienced FM doc sitting next to a fresh EM grad, but making 2/3 for the same work?

Reactions: 1 user