Good MCAT but Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wambam

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a very interesting situation. I got a 35 on my MCAT (!! a LOT of work was put in and I realize what i was doing wrong with my undergrad life). I have been published in Nature, I've volunteered 100+ hours at a hospital, I was a part of student council for a couple of years, and a few of us started this Neuroscience based club on campus that became a huge hit. I've also shadowed 3 different types of doctors. Here's the catch...my GPA is a 2.40. () There really isn't an upward trend. I went to a top 10 school but that shouldn't be an excuse. Do I have a chance? Or is there any way I can try to strengthen my GPA? Problem is I can't go back to the undergrad school (parentals, time, etc). Should I take classes at the local Junior College or a State school (CSU)?

What other ways are there to try to bump up that horrible GPA?
Thank you again!

Members don't see this ad.

Probably best thing would be do do grade replacement and apply to DO schools. MD and subsequently SMPs require a min gpa of 2.75 to be accepted. To get from a 2.4 of 120 units to a 2.75 may take upward of 2 years of A's. And even then you'll need to do an SMP ( 50k costs) after which your mcat will likely have expired.
Doing grade replacement to a gpa of at least a 3.0 might take a year if you have Fs or Ds. You may even try a linkage program after you hit 2.8 like LECOM.
Yah, it's going to be a long road. I know WUbear did this last year. But he did a second bachelors and an SMP and then go into his state school via early admissions. So maybe he can chime in?

Members don't see this ad :)