General Surgery VS Integrated Plastics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agreenbe

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year med student who is pretty much set on doing Plastics. The question that has been on my mind is as follows:

Should I apply to all Integrated Plastics programs and just take whatever program I match with (Even if it is not a pedigree top 10 Academic powerhouse)...OR...Should I try to get into a very STRONG General Surgery program at one of the powerhouse universities and then apply for plastics after doing Gen Surg training???

If anyone has an opinion and can suggest a few programs at which I might be a competitive applicant, I would greatly appreciate it. Here is some info about me...Let me know if you need more. Thanks!

B.A. Johns Hopkins Univ
M.D.(09) Texas Tech Univ
Step 1 255/99
Research with 2 Pubs
Good grades so far...Hoping for AOA

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 3rd year med student who is pretty much set on doing Plastics. The question that has been on my mind is as follows:

Should I apply to all Integrated Plastics programs and just take whatever program I match with (Even if it is not a pedigree top 10 Academic powerhouse)...OR...Should I try to get into a very STRONG General Surgery program at one of the powerhouse universities and then apply for plastics after doing Gen Surg training???

If anyone has an opinion and can suggest a few programs at which I might be a competitive applicant, I would greatly appreciate it. Here is some info about me...Let me know if you need more. Thanks!

B.A. Johns Hopkins Univ
M.D.(09) Texas Tech Univ
Step 1 255/99
Research with 2 Pubs
Good grades so far...Hoping for AOA

Apply to every integrated plastics program, and gsurg as a backup. An guaranteed integrated spot beats a not assured fellowship anyday. Combined programs probably falls in the middle of desirability.

One other thing to add . . .