Friendly argument w med oncs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Totem

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Quick question: I have spent quite a bit of time with medical oncologists this year as an intern, and they all tell me of the incredible future of molecular targeted and immunologic cancer therapies and have been asking me what promise radiotherapy has for the future and what is coming down the pipeline.
I am a busy prelim medicine intern in a dark place (literally--the MICU--and figuratively) and could use some help. It's been over a year since my last rad onc rotation and spending so much time with med oncs has made me a little nervous about the future. What can I tell them re the future of rad onc? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

What can I tell them re the future of rad onc? Thanks

Let them know that as sole and combo modality curative treatment, surgery and rad onc will continue to be the workhorses ;)

Chemo has been and will continue to be palliative for the treatment of the vast majority of solid malignancies (except in the adjunct or concurrent setting). The only exceptions I can really think of are certain lymphomas and testicular CA.

Last edited:
MedOncs have, since the dawn of oncology, seen their therapeutic instruments through the most rose-colored of glasses. Just tell them you'll be excited once you see good long-term data suggesting chemotherapy is anything but palliative for the vast majority of solid malignancies. In the meantime, you can point to advances in radiation which have already shown benefit: SBRT for early-stage lung ca, for example, or IMRT and IGRT allowing further sparing of normal tissues and decreases in toxicity from XRT. And, keep in mind, if they had a new medicine which demonstrated benefits as large as Ra-223 did recently for osseous metastatic prostate cancer, we'd be hearing about it over and over and over.