Feeling Hopeless, Do I still have a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ober3

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to the podiatry thread and also fairly new to SDN. I was originally leaning towards the dental field, but I have recently been reading a lot about podiatry and find it much more fascinating than dentistry! I am now thinking about it as a career, but nothing is set in stone. I still plan on doing some shadowing , volunteering, research and connecting with other pre-podiatry/podiatry students to get myself familiar with what I may be doing in the future! I have a few questions about my chances and what I can do improve.

My Academic Profile:
After High school I attended a community college in California and will now be transferring to a California State University. My GPA for the first couple of quarters was really good, but after taking Chemistry & Calculus courses my cumulative GPA is now a 2.82. Currently I am a biology major and still have 2 more years left until I finish my Biology degree. I finished the General Chemistry series (3 quarters worth) with 2 W's 2 C's & 1 B. Organic Chemistry (also 3 quarters worth) which really kicked me down with 1 D(repeated w/C) 2nd quarter C and this summer I took the last of the series in a 6 week period and have decided to drop it with a W. I have really learned my lesson. Organic Chemistry is def. not a class you take in the summer! The worst series for me was calculus with 2 D's for one of the series and repeat with a C and I still need to finish my last quarter.