Fall 2012 Applicants

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

madison575

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone-
I was planning on applying to MHA programs this summer for Fall 2012. I haven't seen any postings yet for people applying for this cycle so I thought I would get one started to discuss any issues or help each other out.

I know that personally I am a little worried about my application status and would love anyones advice about how to make my app stronger. I graduated in 2010 from a state university with majors in Business management and Psychology with a 3.5 gpa. I always enjoyed being around hospitals but I guess thought you had to be a doctor or a nurse to work in healthcare (and science is not my strong suit). I never thought of making a career out of healthcare MANAGEMENT until this past year so I feel that I am verryyyyy behind!! I literally have no healthcare experience so as of right now my application is a joke.

I will be taking the GRE in June and July (depending on my scores) and am about to begin volunteering at a large hospital in downtown Chicago. I have been looking for jobs in a doctors office, hospital, etc anything! but have had no luck as my no experience is once again biting me in the butt.

If anyone has any advice (good or bad!), encouragement, wants to share etc... feel free!! I'm excited to hear where everyone else is at in the process :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everyone-
I was planning on applying to MHA programs this summer for Fall 2012. I haven't seen any postings yet for people applying for this cycle so I thought I would get one started to discuss any issues or help each other out.