Failed step 1 2013

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jaygupta20

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, so I took step 1 in April and just got my score back with a 187. I'm very shocked and confused because I thought I had actually done well. I prepped for 6 months with First Aid, DIT, Uworld (2x), Kaplan, usmle Masterclass, and some brs. My nbme results are:
nbme 5-210
nbme 11-214
nbme 12-220
nbme 7-230
Uwsa1-220
uwsa2-235

I graduated with a 4.0 and never thought I would fail this exam, I am in utter shock and am feeling so discouraged. With all the prep I've done and practice scores like these I have no idea where I went wrong, and no clue what more to study. I'm probably going to watch pass videos and do pathoma. On my score profile it shows Genetics as my lowest, which is weird because I can't recall any of those questions. Can anyone give me advice on what else I can do, and when should I retake this exam. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yeah I've faxed in my form to get it reevaluated but they told me it takes 4-6 weeks, which I cannot waste just sitting around, so I've re-began the studying process :( .... I'm from AUA

Members don't see this ad :)
How did you feel the exam went after taking it? I know errors are hardly made but maybe you should ask for a recheck on your score...

Hi guys, so I took step 1 in April and just got my score back with a 187. I'm very shocked and confused because I thought I had actually done well. I prepped for 6 months with First Aid, DIT, Uworld (2x), Kaplan, usmle Masterclass, and some brs. My nbme results are:
nbme 5-210
nbme 11-215
nbme 12-220
nbme 7-230
Uwsa1-220
uwsa2-235