Emt-d

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Febrifuge

Grizzled Old Newcomer
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Where I work, there don't seem to be a great number of EMT-D's. In fact, the only people I've seen with the D on their shoulder patch have been in the EMS communications center, near the ED where I work. So until recently, I had completely forgotten the D is for Defibrillator, rather than, say, Dispatch.

Are D's getting rarer, as AED use goes up? Do most areas skip the EMT-D role, and leave defib activities to the Paramedics? I work in a hospital, where all the shocking gets done by the other members of the team, so there is no earthly reason they would pay for me to train for EMT-D. But I'm curious about how much training is available.

Members don't see this ad.

All the basics in my area just carry AEDs. Is an EMT-D allowed to do manual defib?

raDiOnut

Febrifuge said:
Where I work, there don't seem to be a great number of EMT-D's. In fact, the only people I've seen with the D on their shoulder patch have been in the EMS communications center, near the ED where I work. So until recently, I had completely forgotten the D is for Defibrillator, rather than, say, Dispatch.

Are D's getting rarer, as AED use goes up? Do most areas skip the EMT-D role, and leave defib activities to the Paramedics? I work in a hospital, where all the shocking gets done by the other members of the team, so there is no earthly reason they would pay for me to train for EMT-D. But I'm curious about how much training is available.

There is no such thing as an EMT-D in Texas. I don't recall there being an EMT-D option for National Registry either, which excludes Oklahoma.

I'm not sure what an EMT-D is, but: