EMT concerns, please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hoff81EMT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to this forum. My name is Jeff, and I am 26 years old. I graduated from college with a B.A. in Criminal Justice. After testing with various police departments, and sitting on eligibility lists, I've decided to explore other avenues. I've always had a huge interest in Firefighter/Paramedic. So, I've decided that I would take an EMT class to see how I like it. Anyway's, in doing so, I have some concerns. I've heard from various people that it's a VERY hard class. I would think being a college grad, I should be able to pass it. My class will run Tues/Thurs from 6 p.m. - 10 p.m. at a local hospital. Here are my concerns.

1. How is the curriculum set up? What exactly will I do for the 4 hours of class? Is it half lecuture, half lab? How is the lab set up? Do you get to choose your partner? Do you have demonstrate your practicals in front of the entire class?

2. Since I am taking this course in IL, will I have to take a big National test at the completion of the course? If so, how difficult is this test? Is it just a written test, or does it incorporate the practicals as well?

3. How much time did you spend at the hospital doing clinincals? While there, what did you do? Did you strictly observe, or did you actually help out?

4. I went to the bookstore to get the text for this class, and I found out that there is NO TEXT REQUIRED. How could this be? Do they pass out information during the class?

5. Am I really crazy to take this? I figure that it might lead to a rewarding career.

If someone could help me out and ease my nerves, that would be great!

Thanks Jeff

Members don't see this ad.

NO ONE has any thoughts or comments? Come on...

Hello all,