EFC sucks for non-trads.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rgporter

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
When I graduated I felt like a leach on society. I could only afford school with grants and subsidized loans. I wanted to work a little, give society a small payback for their investment in my education. I have been working full time for 4 years. My reward for doing so, EFC = 21,000. I'm not going to have a job in medical school so why should anything other than my savings account matter when they calculate EFC?

BTW my parents are dirt poor and I'm 28 anyway, so the entire EFC came from my income, which I will no longer have.+pissed+
I am married and my wife will work but probably only for one year, since she wants to be a stay-at-home mother. Oh well, I feel lucky just to be going to med school, almost nothing worthwhile is free.

Members don't see this ad.

i feel ya. my husband and i made around 50K this year and i don't want to think about our EFC, especially once parental contribution is factored in!

we spoke with financial aid officers at two schools. both of them said that after the initial loan package comes back, if it's ugly, we can reapply using projected numbers for next year.

hope this helps!

Originally posted by futuredrswife
i feel ya. my husband and i made around 50K this year and i don't want to think about our EFC, especially once parental contribution is factored in!

we spoke with financial aid officers at two schools. both of them said that after the initial loan package comes back, if it's ugly, we can reapply using projected numbers for next year.

hope this helps!

I hope that my husband and I can reapply for loans as well; we are in the exact same boat you are in. Do they expect us to live off Ramen noodles for 4 years?