Dual Citizen Applying to Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nsimon54

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi guys,

So I have been looking around SDN for a while and I can't seem to find a straightforward answer to my questions.

Here is my background: I am a dual citizen of USA and Canada (although I have lived in USA my entire life). I am currently an undergrad in the USA at a competitive school and applying this June. I have a 3.98 (4.00 science) and a 37 MCAT. I am also a resident of California. I am probably interested in going into a competitive residency like surgery.

I am highly considering applying to Canadian medical schools because they are significantly cheaper than US schools.
  1. Let's assume I want to return back to USA for my residency. How difficult will this be? I get the sense that Canadian graduates are treated as 2nd tier in the matching program but I am not sure. What additional steps do I need to take while in Medical school to enable myself to apply to US residencies?
  2. If it is indeed difficult to match into a USA program, and therefore I need to do my residency in Canada, how hard is it to then come practice in the USA afterwards?
  3. After answering the above questions, what pathway would you recommend I follow?
Thanks!

Unless you have a really good reason for applying to Canada for example you want to set up your career in Canada I wouldn't.

There shouldn't be any discrimination when you apply to US residencies as a US citizen unless there is a personal PD bias. Now I can't speak for the reputation of Canadian schools in the US, I highly doubt you'll have any trouble matching to a good program.

With that being said your stats look outstanding and you have a very good chance at Canadian schools.

With that being said, you should be able to get some form of scholarship at US schools with your stats.