Canadian citizens attending USMDs - difficulty getting H1b

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

convolutional

Reaction score
I'm a Canadian MD/PhD student in my 5th year (a few years of PhD and then med school left). I was looking into what staying long term in the US might involve, and I surmised that with a J1, the earliest I could file for immigration would be after residency, IF I were to get the research waiver (so 8-9 years from now). The other waivers would extend the time to 7 years post-graduation. I could also return to Canada and file right away. IF I am lucky enough to get a residency that gives out H1bs, I could try to self sponsor for a green card right after I graduate. My long time ambition has been to create my own startup, and being in the US on non immigrant status would definitely make that difficult.

I was just wondering what other people's experiences have been with getting H1bs as Canadian AMGs? Has it greatly impeded your chances of matching? I am interested in derm, IM + fellowship, rads, perhaps psych. At a mid tier school that has historically gotten good matches for MD/PhDs, should have a decent research portfolio including a grant.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You will be at a much better position to obtain H1b as you are USMD albeit still an international student which will put you at a disadvantage. They are supposed to be "blind" to your nationality but we all know that is outright false. You will have to be strategic when you apply. When I applied, I made a list of all the programs in my specialty that sponsor H1b. You will have a lot less options as a result but that should not deter you from prioritizing programs that sponsor H1b and rank accordingly. I would add a few programs of your choosing that are either safety or reach that do only J1 and rank accordingly based on your interview impressions.