Does volunteering as an EMT replace hospital volunteering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedmind

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that regular hospital volunteer as a civilian is very important for the app (I've already done about two years on and off of that)...but now that I am an EMT doing calls for the fire dept., can this replace regular ol' hospital volunteering? Or do I still need to do it?

Members don't see this ad.

Volunteering isn't required to apply to med school. They like to see some sort of activity that has patient contact so when you say that you want to be a doc and work with patients there is some grounding in reality. Bottom line, do what you find interesting, otherwise you won't be able to maintain it. If you want to do EMT do it but do it well. Learn all you can. Go to the medic CE classes, learn ECGs etc. If you are doing that not volunteering will be fine.

Volunteering in a hospital is an incredibly worthless activity. You carry papers around for people, make beds, and occasionally bring a patient a cup of water. Don't waste your time doing it.

If you get really involved in EMS (which shouldn't be hard, since you've already put in the initial work to get the cert), it will trump volunteering in a hospital many times over.

Members don't see this ad :)
Volunteering in a hospital is an incredibly worthless activity. You carry papers around for people, make beds, and occasionally bring a patient a cup of water. Don't waste your time doing it.

If you get really involved in EMS (which shouldn't be hard, since you've already put in the initial work to get the cert), it will trump volunteering in a hospital many times over.