Do Taiwanese med schools accept oversea students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smooth Operater

don't bug "operatEr"!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I was born in Taiwan, but immigrated to North American when I completed gr. 3 education. I completed my high school diploma in North America. Right now, I am going into 2nd yr undergraduate study. I am wondering do med schools in Taiwan welcome applicants like my background? If so, how do the application process work? Any important information that I should be aware of?

Thank you for help me out! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

u know that taiwan med school 7 years starts right after high school.
so if you start after your 4 year undergrad in the US, you will be older than most of them by about 4 yrs.

Hello badaboom! Thanks for replying! Does the 7 yrs include residency? If I want to study medicine in Taiwan, I must go back to Taiwan after 2nd yr undergrad. I am just worried that I will have to jump through many loop holes if I wish to get a residency in Canada and practice medicine here right after graduating from Taiwan school.

I see you want to pursue dentistry. Is it true that you can specialize in Dentistry in Taiwan med schools?

Members don't see this ad :)
Hmm...

I don't know about your Chinese language level.

A friend of mine had similar background like you, and he was accepted to TW medical on the condition that he does one special year to learn Chinese. You know you'll have a take a lot of courses (like social science, ethics) as well as writing National boards in Chinese.

Also because he was male, he would be obligated to do the 1.8 years of military service after graduation.